top of page


Easton Leads Series: 67 - 43 - 5


1st overall meeting was 1894.  This was an informal game.  


1st official game between the two teams was in 1905.  The 1st Thanksgiving Day meeting was in 1916 and the teams have met annually ever since.


Winner of the game earns the “Forks of the Delaware” Trophy.  Beginning in 2006, the winner is also presented the “Battle for the HIll” Trophy.


Other awards presented include the Offensive Player of the Game, Defensive Player of the Game, and Outstanding LIneman.


Early on, the game was held at March Field on the campus of Lafayette College.


The game is currently held at Lafayette’s Fisher Stadium.


The 100th meeting of Easton and Phillipsburg took place on November 26, 2006.   Easton won 21-7.  


For many years each community annually held a bonfire on the evening before the game to unify and create excitement for the game.  Easton continues to do so, while P’burg’s was discontinued amid protest in the 21st century due to new ordinances in the town.  It was replaced by a fireworks display.



The game has been annually televised by the Sports Traditions Network through 2012 including several pre-game specials about each school’s band, cheerleaders, and football players.  In 2013, Service Electric Cable Television’s TV2 Sports Channel & Channel 69 WFMZ teamed up to begin providing local live television coverage of the game and festivities.


The game is annually attended by over 13,000 fans and has eclipsed the 20,000 mark numerous times.


Longest win streak by Easton (6): 


(5) 1905-1908, 1936-1940, 1950-1954


Longest win streak by Phillipsburg (5):

1945-1949, 1960-1964


Largest margin of victory:

Easton (47) in 1906, Phillipsburg (46) in 1948


Smallest margin of victory:

Easton (1) in 1931 & 1954, P’burg (1) in 1955, 1960, 1977


Most combined points: 57 (E:35-P:22) in 1979


Fewest combined points: 0 in 1944 & 1967

bottom of page